CPLP in solidarity with East Timor's quest for Maritime Boundaries

The Energy Ministers of the CPLP

"expect that the maritime border demarcation between Timor- Leste and Australia should be in accordance with the principles of international law and the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea."

This statement came out of a meeting in  Portugal last week.  Energy Ministers of the nine countries that make up the CPLP - the community of Portuguese Speaking Countries - produced the Cascias Statement [in Portuguese of course!] that includes this expression of solidarity with East Timor on the issue of maritime boundary demarcation.

Timor-Leste is currently President of the group made up of  Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tome and Principe and Timor-Leste.

For those of you who speak Portuguese the whole statement is here.

For the rest of us there is a East Timor Government release about it here.